Deadline: November 30, 2018
Norman E. Borlaug International Agricultural Science and Technology Fellowship Program, 2019 United States (Fully Funded)

The Borlaug International Agricultural Science and Technology Fellowship Program promotes food security and economic growth by providing training and collaborative research opportunities to fellows from developing and middle-income countries.

The Borlaug Fellowship Program honors Norman E. Borlaug, the American agronomist, humanitarian and Nobel laureate known as the “father of the Green Revolution.” Since the program’s inception in 2004, approximately 800 fellows from 64 countries have participated in research and training focused on a wide array of agriculture-related topics, including agronomy, veterinary science, nutrition, food safety, sanitary and phytosanitary issues, natural resource management, agricultural biotechnology, agricultural economics, and agricultural policy.

By improving participants’ understanding of agricultural science, the program helps foster science-based trade policies that improve international market access for U.S. agricultural products.

Borlaug fellows are generally scientists, researchers, or policymakers who are in the early or middle stages of their careers. Each fellow works one-on-one with a mentor at a U.S. university, research center or government agency, usually for 8-12 weeks. The U.S. mentor will later visit the fellow’s home institution to continue collaboration. Fellows may also attend professional conferences and events within their field, such as the annual World Food Prize Symposium.

To be considered for the Borlaug Fellowship Program, candidates must:

  • Be citizens of an eligible country
  • Be fluent in English
  • Have completed a Master’s or higher degree
  • Be in the early or middle stage of their career, with at least two (but not more than 10) years of practical experience
  • Be employed by a university, government agency or research entity in their home country
  • Demonstrate their intention to continue working in their home country after completing the fellowship
  • Eligible Countries: Citizens from following countries: Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, and Nigeria (Cocoa Fellowships for Western Africa), India, Indonesia and Malaysia (Cocoa Fellowships for Asia), Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago (Cocoa Fellowships), Algeria, Bangladesh, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Vietnam and Zambia (Borlaug Fellowships), Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Ghana, Honduras, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam (Global Research Alliance Fellowships) are eligible.

Application Requirements
Candidates must apply via the online application system. The following information will be required:

  • Completed application form
  • 2-3 page program proposal and action plan
  • Signed approval from applicant’s home institution
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • Official copy of transcript for college/university degree(s) received
  • Copy of passport identification page

How to apply:

Click here to applyClick here to visit their website

Source: Globe Oppourtunities


Facebook Conversations